Ask someone in Auckland where to study mātauranga Māori and you’ll usually hear one name: Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi. This Mangere wānanga runs programmes from foundation certificates through to PhDs, and its published fee for a first year of the Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori is $2,500. The fees, the programme range, and the te reo greetings that keep coming up around this institution are all easier to untangle than the search results suggest.

Year 1 fees (Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori): $2,500 total ·
Year 2 fees (Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori): $7,608 total ·
Campus: Mangere, Auckland ·
Recent ceremony: 2,200 graduates

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • The institution’s exact founding year is not stated in the public materials reviewed
  • Total student enrolment figures are not published
  • No full list of every campus location beyond the two Mangere addresses is disclosed
  • Acceptance rates and admission statistics are not released
3Timeline signal
4What’s next

Twelve rows, one pattern: the official record is consistent across NZQA’s provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority) and Awanuiārangi’s own fees schedule (official site) — provider number, addresses, and the $2,500 first-year price that sits far below the other bachelor totals.

Detail Value
Official Name Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi
Provider Number (NZQA) 9386
Campus City Mangere, Auckland
Programme Range Foundation certificates to PhD
Year 1 Fees (Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori) $2,500
Year 2 Fees (Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori) $7,608
Fees-free courses Available to eligible domestic learners (textbooks and equipment excluded)
Bachelor of Education – Teaching (first year) $7,608 total
Bachelor of Health Sciences Māori Nursing (first year) $8,874 total
Bachelor of Environmental Studies (first year) $7,615 total
Postgraduate Certificate in Māori and Indigenous Studies $1,800 per paper
Recent Graduate Count 2,200 (recent ceremony)

What is Awanuiārangi known for?

Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi describes itself as an indigenous tertiary institution with programmes in Te Reo Māori, Māori Performing Arts, Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Tikanga and Cultural Development, and Education and Teaching. Its defining point of difference is the range: it says it is the only wānanga in New Zealand that delivers study from foundation level through to PhD Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi (official wānanga website). The official site also highlights Te Kete Tuangahuru, a cultural development service built around āhuatanga, tikanga and mātauranga Māori.

Mātauranga Māori programmes

  • Fees-free courses are open to domestic learners who meet entry requirements — zero tuition, but textbooks, equipment and other student costs are not covered Awanuiārangi’s fees-free courses page (official site)
  • The fees-free line-up includes a Level 5 certificate in environmental studies that combines mātauranga Māori and science Awanuiārangi’s fees-free courses page (official site)
The catch

Fees-free sounds like free study, but it isn’t free study: textbooks, equipment and other student costs still land on the learner, so the real price of a “zero-fee” programme is whatever the course actually requires you to buy.

Midwifery qualification

  • Health pathways at the wānanga include Te Ōhanga Mataora, the Bachelor of Health Sciences Māori Nursing, with first-year tuition of $8,452 and a total of $8,874 Awanuiārangi’s fees schedule (official site)
  • Midwifery is part of the same health programme area, with accredited qualifications held on NZQA’s register NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)

Nursing and midwifery matter for the same reason the reo programmes matter: they put Māori knowledge inside professions where Māori communities need practitioners.

PhD offerings

  • The institution states it is the only wānanga in New Zealand offering programmes from foundation level through to PhD Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi (official wānanga website)
  • The Postgraduate Certificate in Māori and Indigenous Studies (Te Poutarewa Matauranga Maori me nga Iwi Taketake) runs at $1,800 per paper Awanuiārangi’s fees schedule (official site)
Bottom line: The trade-off: Awanuiārangi’s academic ceiling is high, but its public documentation is thinner than a university’s — you’ll find fees, not enrolment ratios.

Where is te whare wananga o awanuiarangi?

Awanuiārangi is an Auckland institution. Its main campus is at 7 Comet Crescent, Mangere, Auckland 1701, and NZQA’s provider record also lists 15 Canning Street, Mangere, as a further address NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority).

Main campus in Mangere

  • Primary address: 7 Comet Crescent, Mangere, Auckland 1701 NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)
  • The name used on the NZQA record is “Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Manukau”, reflecting the wider Manukau area NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)

Other locations

The pattern: Awanuiārangi is concentrated in southern Auckland — its registered addresses sit a short drive apart, so “where is the campus” has a clear answer.

What is a whare wananga?

A whare wānanga is a Māori tertiary education institution — a house of learning whose mandate is Māori knowledge, language and culture. The dictionary sense of wānanga (Te Aka Māori Dictionary, online te reo reference) covers both extended discussion and the modern institution built around that knowledge. Wānanga have been a recognised category of tertiary education in New Zealand since the Education Act 1989, sitting alongside universities, institutes of technology and private training establishments NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority).

Difference between wānanga and university

  • A wānanga is built around mātauranga Māori — the curriculum’s foundation is te reo and tikanga, not a Western canon with Māori electives added Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi (official wānanga website)
  • Universities and wānanga both issue degrees on the national framework, but a wānanga’s stated mission centres Māori knowledge and language rather than treating it as one department Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi (official wānanga website)

Legal recognition

  • Registered with NZQA as a wānanga under provider number 9386 NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)
  • NZQA’s record lists qualifications from postgraduate certificate and postgraduate diploma through to master’s degrees, with doctoral study described by the institution as part of its range NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)

Why this matters: “wānanga” is not a branding choice. It is a regulated category of tertiary education with its own legal status and its own quality-assurance settings.

What is the meaning of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa?

Te Wānanga o Aotearoa is a completely separate institution from Awanuiārangi. Its name is commonly rendered as “The Wānanga of New Zealand”, with “Aotearoa” being the Māori name for New Zealand, and it is one of the country’s major Māori tertiary providers Wikipedia’s Te Wānanga o Aotearoa entry (encyclopedia reference).

Translation: ‘The Wānanga of New Zealand’

History of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa

  • Te Wānanga o Aotearoa was founded in 1983, making it one of the older wānanga in the country Wikipedia’s Te Wānanga o Aotearoa entry (encyclopedia reference)
  • It offers Māori-focused programmes across multiple campuses and regions, similar in cultural mission to Awanuiārangi but with a considerably larger footprint Wikipedia’s Te Wānanga o Aotearoa entry (encyclopedia reference)

The mix-up risk: when someone googles one wānanga, the other shows up. They share a language and a mission, but they are separately registered and separately enrolled — check the provider number before you apply.

Is it okay to say Aotearoa, New Zealand?

Yes — and it’s becoming the respectful default. Aotearoa is the indigenous Māori name for New Zealand, and using both names together, Aotearoa New Zealand, is now common in official and everyday use Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand (government-funded reference).

How do you say “welcome to Aotearoa” in Māori?

How do Māori say hello?

What do they call white maoris?

  • “Pākehā” is the te reo word for a New Zealander of European descent — “white Māori” mixes up ethnicity and ancestry, because being Māori is a whakapapa-based identity, not a skin colour Te Aka Māori Dictionary (online te reo reference)
The upshot

For a non-Māori speaker walking into any wānanga, the safest first sentence is “kia ora” — it works as hello, thanks and acknowledgement in one, and it costs nothing to get right.

The pattern: these greetings are entry points, not exam answers — using “kia ora” or “nau mai” signals respect for the culture this wānanga exists to sustain.

What Awanuiārangi programmes actually cost

Seven programme lines, one outlier: most bachelor fees sit between $7,231 and $8,452 in tuition, with course-related costs of roughly $375–$400, while the first year of the Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori is listed at just $2,500 — the cheapest degree entry on the schedule Awanuiārangi’s fees schedule (official site).

Programme Tuition (Year 1) Course-related costs Total (Year 1)
Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori — Year 1 — — $2,500
Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori — Year 2 — — $7,608
Te Tohu Paetahi Ako: Bachelor of Education – Teaching $7,231 $377 $7,608
Te Ōhanga Mataora: Bachelor of Health Sciences Māori Nursing $8,452 $422 $8,874
Te Aho Pūtaiao: Bachelor of Environmental Studies $7,240 $375 $7,615
Ngā Mana Whakairo a Toi: Bachelor of Māori Performing Arts Not stated in the listing reviewed $2,027 Not stated in the listing reviewed
Te Poutarewa Matauranga Maori me nga Iwi Taketake: Postgraduate Certificate $1,800 per paper — —
What to watch

Students comparing the $2,500 first year on the Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori against the $7,600-plus bachelors should check what the lower price includes — and what it doesn’t — before planning a three-year budget.

The implication: the Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori is priced like an incentive, and the rest of the schedule prices like a conventional tertiary provider — so the “cheapest degree” label comes with a catch. It lets you into one specific programme, not the whole catalogue.

What’s confirmed and what’s still unclear

Confirmed facts

  • Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori fees: $2,500 year one, $7,608 year two Awanuiārangi’s fees schedule (official site)
  • Main campus at 7 Comet Crescent, Mangere, Auckland 1701 NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)
  • Provider number 9386 on NZQA’s register NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)
  • A recent ceremony celebrated 2,200 graduates, per the official Facebook page Awanuiārangi’s official Facebook page (institution channel)

What’s unclear

  • The institution’s exact founding year is not in the public materials reviewed
  • Total student enrolment numbers have not been published
  • The full list of campus locations beyond the two Mangere addresses is not disclosed
  • Acceptance rates and admission statistics are not released

The trade-off: Awanuiārangi publishes what applicants need to decide — fees, levels, locations — but the operational data that lets you compare it against a university on size or selectivity is simply not there.

What the institution and its records say

“A dynamic spectrum of education” — that’s how Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi describes its academic range, from foundation courses to PhD study.

Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi, official Facebook page (institution social channel)

Provider 9386 — Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Manukau — registered with qualifications from postgraduate certificate and postgraduate diploma through to master’s degrees.

NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority)

The contrast is useful: the institution sells itself in terms of cultural range and spectrum; the regulator describes it in terms of registered levels and addresses. Both are true, and both are partial.

Bottom line: Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi is a wānanga first and a qualification factory second — its whole programme stack, from foundation certificates to PhDs, runs on mātauranga Māori. For domestic students in Auckland who want te reo and tikanga inside a formal qualification, the $2,500 first year of the Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori, plus the fees-free course list, makes it a genuinely affordable path. For applicants who need hard enrolment numbers or a founding date before they commit, the implication is clear: email the wānanga or visit the Mangere campus directly, or you’ll be deciding on a partial picture.

Frequently asked questions

How do I apply for a programme at Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi?

Applications go through the wānanga’s official enrolment pages, where each programme lists its own requirements and intake details; the institution’s study pages are the starting point Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi (official wānanga website).

What are the entry requirements for the Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori?

Entry requirements depend on the programme and your previous study. Domestic learners who meet the entry criteria may also access fees-free courses, but the zero-fee offer doesn’t cover textbooks or equipment Awanuiārangi’s fees-free courses page (official site).

Does Awanuiārangi offer online or distance learning options?

Delivery modes are set per programme, and the public materials reviewed don’t break out online options; check the specific programme page or ask the wānanga directly before applying Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi (official wānanga website).

What financial support is available for students?

Eligible domestic students can apply for loans and allowances through Studylink, and Awanuiārangi’s fees-free courses remove tuition for learners who qualify — though course-related costs remain the student’s responsibility Studylink (New Zealand government student support).

How does Awanuiārangi differ from a traditional university?

It is a wānanga, not a university: NZQA registers it as a separate type of tertiary institution under provider number 9386, and its programmes are built around mātauranga Māori, te reo and tikanga from foundation level through to PhD NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority).

What is the duration of the midwifery programme?

The length depends on the qualification level and your entry pathway; the public materials reviewed don’t state a single duration, so the reliable move is to check the health programme pages or contact the wānanga for the current intake NZQA provider register (New Zealand Qualifications Authority).

If your question isn’t here, the official site’s enrolment pages are the next stop — the published record is lighter than a university’s, so direct enquiries often get better answers.

Related reading: